To improve your user experience, this website uses cookies to store data. Click HERE for more information.I agree

National Teams > Men > A

The Year of Luka

Luka Modrić is
Croatia's first
Ballon d'Or winner!

Luka Modrić is Croatia's first Ballon d'Or winner!
photo by: L'Équipe
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Instagram
  • RSS

Captain of the Croatia national football team Luka Modrić was named the best football player in the world at France Football's prestigious Ballon d'Or award ceremony in Paris.

After being named UEFA Men's Player of the Year and winning FIFA's The Best award, Luka Modrić completed his list of numerous individual accomplishments in 2018 by taking home the 2018 Ballon d'Or. This award confirms a stellar year for the Croatian midfielder, which includes achievements such as leading the national team to the FIFA World Cup Final and winning a third consecutive UEFA Champions League title with Real Madrid, fourth in total.

Modrić's claim at this year's Ballon d'Or ends a decade-long domination by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, with Modrić topping Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi, Mohamed Salah, Rapahel Varane, Eden Hazard, Kevin de Bruyne, and Harry Kane.

Croatia vice-captain Ivan Rakitić was placed 19th at the list along with Sergio Ramos and Roberto Firmino, while striker Mario Mandžukić, in international retirement, shared the 25th place with goalkeepers Jan Oblak and Alisson Becker.

France Football's inaugural Raymond Kopa Trophy for best under-21 player went to French wunderkind Kylian Mbappe, while Norwegian Ada Hegerberg took home the first women's Ballon d'Or.

Load more

Previous Match

Croatia - Georgia 2:1